A215 – Next up… Poetry!

I don’t know about you guys but this is the part of the A215 module that I am most apprehensive of. I am *not* by any definition of the word “good” with poetry. I’m not good with understanding meaning in poetry, I’m utterly lost with recognising metre and other technical stuff like and this all adds up to being shit at writing it.

I literally have only 2 attempts at poems in my possession. Just two and I’m pretty sure that if I cared to try and dig them out of whatever notebook they’re hiding in I’d be appalled by them. So the thought of having to have either a single poem or several poems adding up to 40 lines written and “perfected” by the end of February is utterly terrifying.

The last two assignments have been fairly manageable for me and I’m hoping to get a decent mark for my short story which I submitted yesterday (maybe?) despite the fact that I barely looked at the textbook for the whole of November and December and had to pull things to reference in the commentary out of thin air. *fingers crossed*. However the next three TMAs are going to be exponentially more difficult as I will need to chain myself to my desk and study my derriere off for Poetry then deal with having the Life Writing *and* Going Public TMAs due within 2 weeks of each other ON TOP OF THE FINAL TMA FOR MY FRENCH MODULE!!! O_O

Yes I have both of my TMA05s due within a day of each other. That is going to suck *so* bad. Ugh I am going to need to take the first week of May to just wind down after April’s madness (definitely won’t be doing CampNano).

But yea I am going to be throwing myself at the BRB, Stephen Fry’s “The Ode less Travelled” and the three volumes of poetry I borrowed from the library earlier in the vain desperate hope that it eventually makes sense. I shall post up some of my attempts at the exercises for y’all to laugh at if you like.

Tally ho!

Ray 🙂

One thought on “A215 – Next up… Poetry!

  1. You aren’t the only one who can’t wrap their head around poetry! I had a lecturer who was adamant that we learn the how to recognize different metres and what the metre said about the poem, but I could never do it. The only help I can offer is to try looking at lyrics, or writing to music/a beat that might fit the theme or topic of the poem?

    Sounds like you have a lot of work ahead of you, so best of luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

