Deadline Day! – A215 TMA 01

So anyone doing A215 is currently probably going to be slumped on a table about now, breathing a sigh of relief that their first Creative Writing TMA is done and submitted. I have to own up to having sent mine on Monday although I am a little nervous about mine now that I’ve since seen my tutor mention that it should be one document for all three parts but I’ve submitted mine as a zipped folder with 3 separate files. It made more sense to do it that way since each part needed its own heading but here’s hoping that there’s no issue with that because I’ve followed all the other formatting requirements that my tutor mentioned.

Out of all of the parts we had to do I found the commentary the hardest by far. I did my Freewrite on the 22nd of September and the second draft of the fiction piece was done on the 14th of October. I’ve been sitting on both of them for a couple of weeks hoping to get my tutor to give me some feedback on them before I submitted them as final versions but with the confusion over what can and can’t be seen or commented on before TMA submission I’ve sent them in with only the opinion of my best friend Alpha reader (who is pretty much the only person who gets to read stuff I’ve written before I bother to edit it) to sooth my fears over its merit.

But god the commentary was tough to write, not only because the word count was so piddly that you had space to say only the major points you could remember about your writing process. That’s what it felt like to me anyway. I had to really think hard to recall what things did actually inspire my fiction piece and even then I think I failed to mention a lot of things. I know I didn’t reference my writer’s notebook (which I’m awful at using, I don’t think I’ve written anything in there for ages) and I only mentioned the BRB for one thing. I did reference a novel that inspired the style of the fiction piece somewhat although I managed to sidetrack my work for several hours when I re-read the whole damn thing.

I was happy with the Freewrite and the Fiction although I think that there won’t be enough random associations in the freewrite. At a later date I might look to develop the fiction piece into a full story since it was a very intriguing idea and I want to know where things would go.

For now until I get my marks back I’m gonna try and avoid thinking about it and instead focus on trying to keep my French work ticking over (that is getting hella neglected right now) and making a good start with Nanowrimo although since I’m going to be working both Saturday and Sunday afternoons now it’s going to be interesting to see if I can get ahead or if I’ll be chasing word counts all month.

How did everyone else feel things went?

Ray

2 thoughts on “Deadline Day! – A215 TMA 01

  1. I submitted my assignment on the 19th and have been freaking out since about it. I’m pretty pleased with all my pieces, but I have a feeling that I submitted the wrong file (I had one that was formatted to how I’m used to, and another that was formatted how the OU wants it).

    I have my first assignment due for A230 on the 6th that I haven’t even started yet cause I keep focusing on A215 too much, so I’m kind of freaking out about that.

    Then there’s NaNo! I’m so ridiculously excited about my novel this year that I have a feeling I’m going to ignore everything next month and get horribly behind!

    What prompt did you pick for your A215 assignment freewrite?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I picked the Shop Window prompt, I did write a rather over-long piece of something with one of the other prompts that I might post up at a later date. I am hoping that my freewrite has enough randomness to please my tutor 😛
    I am very worried that my Nano story will take over my brain which will be very bad if I forget to do my French TMA by the 12th. :S

    Like

Leave a Reply

