Wednesday’s Cup o’Thoughts (1/10/2014)

So it’s now October. That happened kinda fast, it’s only three days until my modules officially start and only 6 days until my birthday. Although I think I’ve already shed much of the birthday feeling, it’s what happens when you celebrate it early like I invariably do every year. I’m a bloody idiot like that.

Yesterday was as usual a rather mopey Tuesday – I have this weird mental block on Tuesdays that it is a hangover from when I worked as a TA. For most of the second year I worked there every Tuesday I had at least one god-awful class with a bunch of kids who would make my job as difficult as possible. How the fuck are you supposed to support their learning when they are making a concerted effort to be little shits and be rude and disrespectful to staff? I disliked those kids who would be outrageously rude to teachers when I was still in high school myself, there’s no reason for it. Yes they may annoy you and are stricter than you personally feel they should be (oh no they took your phone off you? You’re at fucking school you have no need to be on it in a god-damn lesson) but that doesn’t give you the right to make they feel like shit and dread the days they have to come to work. Your teachers and TAs have already been through high school and they don’t need to be subjected to the pettiness of rude teenagers who don’t appreciate the fact that we chose to work in education to pass on what we’ve learnt to the next generation.

Gah that turned ranty I’m sorry. I’m probably not going to end up teaching Secondary school kids after I’ve got my degree, maybe Post-16 because then I will be justified in yelling at them when they’re being rude because it was their damn choice to be in whatever class I’m teaching.

But yea I hate Tuesdays, I got some ironing done, I read a whole book, I did a bit of writing but not much else. Ugh

Plan of Action for the Day

1. After I get dressed I think I’m going to head over to the library with my handy memory stick and print off the draft of my writing TMA that I did the other week so I can give it a read-through and start editing it so I have stuff to take to my day school. I’m rather nervous for that since I have no idea how many other people are going to  be there and reading my own work aloud isn’t something I’ve done before. (Gah this may turn into another long post)

2. Alongside number 1 I shall have a read through the sections on Editing in the various writing books I have. (I will also have to do a show & tell post of all my writing books, I have quite a few now)

3. I need to make sure of what I’m supposed to be doing for my first French TMA so I can be preparing and harvesting vocab and ideas from the start of the course.

4. I need to look in my Paris guidebook and actually plan some things that Le Boyf and I are going to do while in Paris next week because although I’ve been about 6 times my other half has never been so I need to actually show him things. This task has been underlined by him so I really do need to do this one 😛

What am I looking forward to?

I should find the whole printing off my TMA draft thing easy but I know the editing won’t be. But that’s kind of the point right?

What do I think I’ll find tricky?

Actually reading through my TMA after two weeks and not suddenly hating everything about it.

How can I work through it?

Erm make someone else read it and have them lie convincingly to me if they too don’t like it?

What song came up first on my iPod this morning?

The Trolls – Frozen movie soundtrack (I like this instrumental track much more than the Trolls’ actual musical number)

Now off to work!

Ray 🙂

Leave a Reply

