Monday’s Cup o’Thoughts (Week B. 8/9/2014)

Morning my delectable cream puffs (don’t ask), tis quite a gloriously sunny morning here in the Shire of Derby although I am bit cold in my office since the window faces west and the sun won’t get round to this side of the house until the afternoon. But I have a nice cup of tea to warm me up (brewed from a teabag I thieved from the hotel we stayed at in Dublin last month).  If I get really chilly then I’ll either have to resort to hoodie or onesie like a real adult 😛

Plan of Action for the Day

Sooo today will consist of:

1. Writing – more freewriting practice, clustering (need to get the hang of it) and maybe also a walk to do some description practice

2. French – I still have one part of the activity I started last week to finish and I could do with making some general notes on what the text I just worked on. Plus a giant sign saying “Jamais non plus” basically just means “Jamais” but with a fuckton of extra complication – I ended up tweeting with an actual French teen to ask about this structure because I couldn’t find a decent translation or explanation for it ANYWHERE! Ugh dang why do something gotta be twelve times more irritating than they need to be.

What am I looking forward to?

Well a walk in the park to do some writing will be rather enjoyable since y’know I’m all about basking the sun like a lizard. So long as I actually write then we’re good.

What do I think I’ll find tricky?

Clustering. It is not the kind of thought generation technique I can really get my head around, I rather like creating straightforward lists that don’t turn into a spidery, cramped mess on the page. But gotta keep slogging at it.

How can I work through it?

Use blank A4 paper so I have a bit more space, doing clusters in my writer’s notebook limits the amount of space I have significantly.

What song came up first on my iPod this morning?

Once upon a Dream – Sleeping Beauty (from my Now That’s What I call Disney CD). Almost perfect for twirling through a forest 😛

Now off to work!

Ray 🙂

Leave a Reply

