Tuesday’s Cup o’Thoughts

*zombie groan* I hate Tuesdays, they’re always somehow worse to wake up on than Mondays; I mean I have kind of exacerbated that shitty Tuesday feeling by being up til midnight playing this addictive-as-fuck app game called Quiz Up (don’t search for it, it’s a trap you’ll just end up playing a topic until you’re #10 in the UK or something crazy like that). So I’m now imbibing roasty-toasty tea which is delish because who doesn’t love the feeling of lava running down your throat when you’re fresh from your sleep grave?

Yesterday was reasonably productive, I got more French done than actual writing because I spent far too long writing this morning blog post *facepalm* so today I need to do better with that. Also if you’ve not already noticed this is going to be my way of creating accountability for myself, by posting daily about the things I’m wanting to get done then it puts more pressure on me to actually get shit done when I know that the interwebby folk could come asking “so did you do everything on your list then?” at any random time.

Plan of Action for the Day

1. Writing – I want to try doing some of the freewriting and clustering activities from the BRB and also possibly some of the other first chapter exercises.

2. French – I want to do the first textbook activity from Unit 1 and also go back through my L120 textbooks making a note of all the grammar things I should know so I can check whether I actually do know them and rectify if necessary.

3. Domestics – dishes, laundry or ironing. I could with doing at least one of these since we’re soon going to have no plates to eat off and I’ll probably need to do the dishes before I can eat lunch.

What am I looking forward to?

I’m hoping that I won’t find the freewriting exercises too odd and that I’ll get some interesting stuff out of them, if there’s anything I need for my writing module it’s probably some random tidbits that I can try and develop later especially if they’re ideas for short fiction because damn if most of the ideas I have are immediately novel-length possible series ideas. I gotta learn how to write a shorter fully-contained narrative.

What do I think I’ll find tricky?

I think I will find compiling the list of grammar structures I need to know for French daunting because obviously my copious quantities of guilt for not having focused on learning it better before will kick in when I fill a page with just the names of the various tenses and whatnot.

How can I work through it?

I think the only reasonable solution to this will be to crank the Avengers soundtrack and just power through. I can worry about how I’m going to go about learning all the grammar points another day, once I’ve listed them.

What song came up first on my iPod this morning?

Darcy’s Letter from 2005 Pride & Prejudice soundtrack (I have a soundtrack addiction if you *must* know)

Well that was a quicker finish than yesterday, maybe by the end of the week I can get this done in 10 mins flat!

Now off to work!

Ray 🙂

Leave a Reply

